Trader Joe’s Cauliflower Rice Casserole 

Okay I know it’s the time of year for everything pumpkin and warm, homey crock pot dishes for Fall, but summer is still here until the 21st so here’s a light and healthy cauliflower rice casserole filled with cheese and broccoli.  cauliflower-8

I’m obsessed with Trader Joe’s. I’m always surprised when I leave the register that 1) my total is so low after buying strictly everything organic and 2) that the cashiers are so friendly! So when I heard Trader Joe’s started making bagged cauliflower rice I wanted to try it right away. I also heard T Joe’s can’t keep it on the shelf! Eric and I went shopping for the essentials and there it was! I grabbed a bag and planned on doing something with it.

I work nights so casseroles are my go-to for summer. I find crock pot recipes are usually too rich for the summer months or only give you the option to make meat for tacos (MMMM!) for lighter fare. Don’t get me wrong, I heart taco Tuesday but I can’t really bring a whole taco bar to work. So this cauliflower casserole was the perfect option for me to bring to work for a few days and for Eric to have something other than a sandwich to eat for dinner.

cauliflower-9I bought most of my ingredients from Stop and Shop as its right around the corner and I didn’t have time to go to Trader Joes for the rest. I bought their all natural chicken in the bag which I love – buy chicken that’s similar. High quality chicken goes a long way in a casserole with not many ingredients.

Preheat your oven at 400 degrees and prep your chicken on a baking sheet. Cover the chicken in olive oil. I use a Misto. If you don’t have one – get one! You can put your favorite olive oil in the bottle and use it as a spray to cover chicken like in this recipe without using too much, grease a pan or spray a skillet. I use it all the time!

After you chicken is coated in oil olive season it liberally with salt and pepper and bake for 20 minutes. While the chicken is baking, grab a bowl and dump your cauliflower rice and broccoli in a big bowl. Pour in the melted butter, 1 cup of the Italian cheese blend, onion
powder, garlic powder and salt and pepper. Stir well in the bowl.cauliflower-1

When chicken is done cooking slice it in bite-sized chunks. Add the chicken to the bowl with everything else and mix it all together. Take the contents of the bowl and carefully dump it into your 9×13 baking pan. I actually coated the pan a little with my Misto before just in case. After everything is in the pan and you’ve picked up the pieces of cauliflower rice off your floor (let’s face it, that was bound to happen), top everything with a cup of mozzarella cheese. Pop it in the oven for 50 minutes.

cauliflower-3

When it comes out you have a flavorful, cheesy and low-carb meal! This was my first time making it and I think next time I would put it in for slightly less time because it was a little too brown for me on top. If that’s more your thing then 50 minutes is perfect! So enjoy this casserole as summer is fleeting away.

INGREDIENTS 

1 lb skinless, boneless all-natural chicken breasts 

1 tbsp olive oil

1 bag of Trader Joe’s cauliflower rice

16 oz bag frozen broccoli cuts

2 tsp coarse sea salt

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp butter, melted

1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

1 cup Italian six cheese blend, shredded

INSTRUCTIONS 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Slice chicken breasts in half horizontally, lightly coat in olive oil and place on baking sheet. Liberally season with salt and pepper. Bake for 20 minutes.

While chicken is baking, pour the cauliflower rice into a large bowl. Add frozen broccoli cuts, chopping some of the larger pieces in half.

Remove chicken from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.

While chicken is cooling, add sea salt, melted butter, onion powder, garlic powder, shredded mozzarella cheese and 1 cup of the shredded Italian six cheese blend to the large bowl.

Mix everything together.

Carefully cut baked chicken into cubes. Toss with broccoli/cauliflower mixture and transfer to 9 x 13 inch (3 quart) baking dish or larger.

Top with ½ cup shredded mozzarella cheese.

Bake in oven for 50 minutes.

Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Loved this recipe? Love Trader Joe’s? Let me know! I’d love to hear what you think!

xoxo,

Erika

Leave a Reply

